Oldham Labour councillors
Oldham Labour councillors

Oldham Council Leader Sean Fielding has announced his new Cabinet team for the year ahead, which includes a new senior post focused on ensuring Oldham recovers strongly from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Believed to be one of the first people in the country to hold such a role, Deputy Leader Cllr Arooj Shah will lead the COVID-19 Recovery portfolio, working closely with cabinet colleagues to ensure Oldham builds back better, tackling poverty and unemployment, community concerns and isolation.

Cllr Fielding (pictured) said: “COVID-19 is the biggest challenge Oldham has faced in generations. It’s so important that we all pull together to build back better, and our new cabinet team will do just that.

“We can’t afford to simply step back and hope to minimise the damage. I’ve asked my cabinet to give a renewed focus to the actions we can take today that will make the lives of Oldham residents better over the long term.”

Cllr Shah said: “The way the council has responded to support residents during this crisis has been fantastic, and we’ve been boosted massively by the army of residents volunteering or helping their neighbours.

“The next step is so important – rebuilding our businesses, giving our young people a great education, and making Oldham a great place to live. In my new role I’m looking forward to working with cabinet colleagues and our partners across the borough so we can all collaborate towards the same goal – a better Oldham.”

Other changes to Cllr Fielding’s cabinet include Cllr Amanda Chadderton taking on a new HR and Corporate Reform portfolio, overseeing the council’s delivery of services in new community hubs.

Cllr Eddie Moores joins the cabinet with responsibility for Children and Young People, and Cllr Barbara Brownridge will oversee Neighbourhoods and Culture.


The full list of Cabinet appointments is as follows:

Economy and Skills: Cllr Sean Fielding (Deputy: Cllr Mohon Ali)

COVID-19 Recovery: Cllr Arooj Shah (Deputy: Cllr Cath Ball)

Finance and Low Carbon: Cllr Abdul Jabbar (Deputy: Cllr George Hulme)

Housing and Homelessness: Cllr Hannah Roberts

Health and Social Care: Cllr Zahid Chauhan (Deputy: Cllr Marie Bashforth)

Children and Young People: Cllr Eddie Moores (Deputy: Cllr Valerie Leach)

Neighbourhoods and Culture: Cllr Barbara Brownridge (Deputy: Cllr Ateeque Ur Rehman)

Education: Cllr Shaid Mushtaq (Deputy: Cllr Chris Goodwin)

HR and Corporate Reform: Cllr Amanda Chadderton (Deputy: Cllr Steve Williams)

The following Chair positions have also been appointed:

Miocare: Cllr Steven Bashforth

Unity Partnership: Cllr Fida Hussain

Health and Wellbeing Board: Cllr Jean Stretton

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search